Jewish Life From the Enlightenment: The 200 years that brought us where we are

The Pale

Dr. Joel M. Hoffman http://www.exc.com/JoelHoffman Temple Shaaray Tefila — Fall, 5767

From the 1904 Jewish Encyclopedia:

At present (1904) the Pale includes, according to law, fifteen governments: Bessarabia, Wilna, Vitebsk, Volhynia, Grodno, Yekaterinoslav, Kovno, Minsk, Moghilef, Podolia, Poltava, Taurida, Kherson, Chernigov, and Kiev. Moreover, Jews registered in the merchant gilds may reside in Sebastopol (since 1861), in Nikolaief (since 1866), and in Kiev (since 1861). The right of temporary residence in the last-cited place is granted also to young men studying in schools or in workshops, as well as to their parents. Two districts only, Plock (Plossk) and Lybed, are assigned for residence to the Jews; and Jews may live in other parts of the city only by special permission of the local authorities. Under Alexander III the city of Taganrog, the district of Rostov, and the city of Yalta (1893) were excluded from the Pale, which was still further narrowed during his reign by the so-called "Temporary Regulations" (1882), which have now remained in force for more than twenty years.